Phase9 Movies 2000-12

Back to Main Site

Latest movie trailers, behind the scenes video features and more


Year: 2008
USA: Paramount Vantage
UK: Paramount Pictures UK
Cast: Rutina Wesley, Dwain Murphy, Tre Armstrong, Brennan Gademans, Kevin Duhaney, Shawn Desman, Keyshia Cole, Melanie Nicholls-King, DeRay Davis
Director: Ian Iqbal Rashid
Country: Canada
USA: 94 mins
UK: 91 mins
USA Rated: PG-13 for some drug content, suggestive material and language
UK Certificate: 12A contains strong language and soft drug use
USA Release Date: 25 January 2008
UK Release Date: 4 April 2008 (Limited Release)

UK Distributor


HOW SHE MOVE is an energetic, gritty and ultimately inspiring coming of age tale about a gifted young woman who defies all the rules as she step dances her heart out to achieve her dreams. Featuring a fresh cast of new discoveries, this Sundance Film Festival hit marks the feature film debut of the electric Rutina Wesley, with street-style step sequences by top choreographer Hi-Hat and special appearances by R&B singer-songwriter Keyshia Cole and comedian DeRay Davis.

Bursting with raw talent and intelligence, Raya Green (Wesley), the daughter of Jamaican immigrants, has always been the family's one great hope. She won the rare chance to break out of their neighbourhood dominated by drugs and crime when she was accepted into the exclusive Seaton Academy. But when her sister dies of an overdose, the family is shattered and Raya is forced to return to the place she tried so hard to escape.

It's not easy to go back, especially when one-time friends, including the tough minded Michelle (Tre Armstrong), see Raya as a stuck-up traitor who left the community behind. Feeling trapped and looking for a way out, Raya learns about a step competition with a $50,000 cash prize that could change her fate...

HOW SHE MOVE is directed by Ian Iqbal Rashid (TOUCH OF PINK) from a screenplay by Annmarie Morais. Driven by music, the film features tracks from Missy Elliott, Busta Rhymes, Lilé Mama and Yummy Bingham. The score is composed by Andrew Lockington

Copyright © 2022 Phase9 Entertainment - All Rights Reserved

Website Design by Phase9 Internet